About Us                                                                                                 

The Feather River College Rodeo Program

The Feather River College Rodeo Team was founded in 2002 and continues to be a tradition of excellence. Our mission is to not only help students excel in the arena, but also in the classroom. We pride ourselves in celebrating the western way of life and continue to instill those values into our students. Watch us as we compete against the best in the West Coast Region!

Meet The Coaches

Meet the Equine Studies Coaches



Left to Right

Sterling Humphry - Men's Assistant Coach

Bailey Bidwell - Women's Assistant Coach

Riley York - Head Rodeo Coach

Kaity York - Rodeo Liaison

FRC Rodeo History

West Coast Region

The NIRA is divided into 11 regions. Feather River Rodeo competes in the West Coast Region along with five other schools: Cal Poly, Fresno State, Lassen College, the University of Las Vegas Nevada, and West Hills College. Geographically, the region incudes all of California and Nevada. The region hosts 10 rodeos and is comprised of nearly 225 members competing in the following rodeo events: Bareback Riding, Saddle Bronc Riding, Bull Riding, Tie Down Roping, Team Roping and Steer Wrestling for men; and Barrel Racing, Breakaway Roping, Goat Tying, and Team Roping for women.

For more information on the NIRA West Coast Region, click here.


(National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association)

The NIRA is the sanctioning body of college rodeo. They create and enforce rules governing the sport, handle national administration, and work with individuals and college programs to promote college rodeo. The mission of the NIRA is to foster and develop rodeo at the college level so that it will provide educational and competitive opportunities for students. The NIRA organization lives up to its motto of "preserving western heritage through collegiate rodeo" by hosting nearly 100 college rodeos each year for its more than 3,500 competing members. The assocation is made up of 137 schools and universities and is divided into 11 regions.

For more information on NIRA, please visit collegerodeo.com.

College National Finals Rodeo

Each college is allotted a 10-member team, consisting of six men and four women, to compete for team points at the College National Finals Rodeo (CNFR). These team points are earned by coach-selected individuals and count towards the team's standing. At the end of the season, the top two point-earning teams in each region qualify to send a complete team to teh CNFR. Athletes from each of the 11 regions compete throughout the season for these individual team points. Individual points are rewarded for placing 6th place or higher in each respective event. At the end of the season, the top four point holders in each event qualify for the CNFR. At the CNFR, no season points are carried over to deterine team and national titles. Instead, all national titles are determined through points earned at the CNFR.

For more information on the CNFR, please visit cnfr.com.

Feather River Rodeo logo

FRC Rodeo Program

ryork@frc.edu • 530-283-0202 ext. 306

570 Golden Eagle Avenue • Quincy, CA 95971